Home > JapanMS Updates > [JMST] Are the JMS original contents good…?

[JMST] Are the JMS original contents good…?

 

I did manage to get into the test server today, but I barely got in by the skin off my teeth. Was it worth it? Well… Let me try detailing my experience with you.

When I first logged in, it was like any other test server. I started at Maple Island, had to do the quests to get off and whatnot. When I completed the quests, I noticed something hilarious. The quest rewards were equipment that gave insane stats – GM-style stats.

 

 

 

 

Great stuff, right? I was laughing so hard when I realised I was receiving those items. After that, I got off of Maple Island, talked to Dances With Balrog and advanced to 1st job as a Warrior. I proceeded to go to the Mirror of Dimension and then to the event map where Naomi, the NPC that gave out the Spirit items and Monster Familiar items for the test server, was. When I talked to Naomi, she had the option to give out Spirit Weapon items. Unfortunately, she only gave out two scrolls per person and two boss orbs per person. She had another option to give out Monster Familiar cards, which are an addition to the Monster Book, actually. They get their own tab in the Monster Book, but don’t exactly add to your score in your Monster Book – at least not as far as I’m aware. Enough babbling, I’ll get to the point.

 

 

 

 

Spirit Weapons :

 

 

 

Spirit Scrolls require your weapon to be at 0 slots before you can apply them to your weapon. Spirit Scrolls can only be used on level 100 or higher weapons. The spirit ability gets tacked on to the bottom of your weapon, where your potential ability would be. The Spirit Scroll has a 15% success rate.

 

 


 

 

Unfortunately, having only the spirit scroll doesn’t do jack. You can kill monsters and collect spirit orbs from monsters, but your spirit count doesn’t go up and nothing really happens. It’s just there for aesthetics, I suppose. To get what you actually WANT – the ability to make collecting spirit count, the ability to use the spirit skill, etc. – you have to collect a Boss Spirit from certain bosses and apply them to your weapon. Be careful, though! These Boss Spirits have a 15% success rate and if they fail they will blow up your item.

 

 

 

 

It’s a 100% chance to blow up your item if it fails. The system hardly seems worth it to me… If the Boss Spirits didn’t boom your items, I would think about using them on my Reverse Equinox, but there’s no way I’ll risk blowing it up for this. >_> Here’s a video showing a demonstration of one of the skills. I realise I didn’t put much detail into the video itself, so I apologize for that. I was kind of rushing it when I made it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Monster Familiar :

 

 

Naomi gave out one random Monster Familiar card at a time. When you use these cards, it gives you a popup to name your monster with its unique identity. You can name it just about anything you want! Also, it seems the more cards of that monster you have, the more vitality it has. For instance, I collected 3 Mano Monster Familiar cards and it had 3 whole vitality orbs.

 

 

 

 

Unfortunately, the Monster Familiar system sucks at this point. For one, people can use it to bot pretty easily. All they have to do is summon it and sit there and let the monster kill for them while they do whatever. Secondly, the monster’s accuracy is level-based, meaning if you take Mano, a level 10 monster, and try to fight Roids, a level 88 monster, you’ll miss far more than you’ll ever hit. This being, you’ll actually have to hunt for higher level monster cards for your monster friends to be useful at higher levels. I guess that gives incentive to hunt higher level monsters. Unfortunately, the monster’s damage sucks pretty bad. When I summoned the level 100 monster – the highest one available in JMST – the thing was only doing 1000 damage, when a level 100 can normally do at least 10x that.

 

 

 

 

I don’t know if this system is really that good. It doesn’t really SEEM to be that good right now, but it may be better with higher level monsters. Unfortunately, we can’t go that far in the test server, so we’ll have to wait for it to be released in the official server to find out. In the mean time, enjoy this video :

 

 

 

 

 

 

One last thing! I’m so, so, so happy that Nexon Japan finally fixed the drop tables with the implementation of Renaissance! Of course, this is only on the test server, but I REALLY, REALLY hope they keep this!

 

 

Pre-Renaissance :

 

 

 

Post-Renaissance :

 

 

 

Before Renaissance, as you can see, most of those items are not in the Monster Book at all! If these drop tables are implemented in the live servers, this means I can finally hunt for potential gear for my Viper!😀 While the JMS-original content wasn’t that impressive to me, the new drop tables make me so happy~.

Categories: JapanMS Updates
  1. Netorino
    July 3, 2011 at 1:26 am

    Are these mastery books universal?
    Let’s hope these drop tables get released soon! Plus raising the drop rate.

    Familiar was so lame it’s worse than Cygnus’ summon lol, I guess we can only wait for more stuff behind familiar’s actual release.

    • ShiKage08
      July 3, 2011 at 1:36 am

      Yeah. Secret Mastery Books drop from all monsters that previously dropped Mastery Books. When used, they give you a random Mastery Book. It could be anything – you could make a ton of money if you’re really lucky.😛

  2. polantaris
    July 3, 2011 at 2:50 am

    I am disappoint.

  3. July 3, 2011 at 9:59 am

    The systems themselves are really good, it’s how they’re being implemented by Nexon Japan that sucks. With a little tweaking they’ll be really good.

  4. July 4, 2011 at 2:35 am

    ShiKage08 :
    Yeah. Secret Mastery Books drop from all monsters that previously dropped Mastery Books. When used, they give you a random Mastery Book. It could be anything – you could make a ton of money if you’re really lucky.

    The damage is so low to prevent bottom, this should be seen just as a little helper, a little summon. It shouldn’t 1hko everything, it should just help you a little bit.

    • ShiKage08
      July 4, 2011 at 2:43 am

      I know, but only 1k damage at level 100 is kind of lame when your character will be two-hit killing everything, even when you’re unfunded. I’m really hoping higher level monsters can deal much better damage, making the Familiars worthwhile in the long run. If not, they’ll only be useful at things like LHC, Future Ereb, and whatnot that are party play zones with monsters with tens of millions of HP. Also, they would be useful on boss runs.😛

      It also sucks a bit that I can’t use a snail to fight Horntail. That would have been pretty awesome. :<

  5. July 5, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    Voice acting? Any videos?

    • ShiKage08
      July 5, 2011 at 10:18 pm

      I don’t think we’ll find any videos or any confirmation about voice acting until Renaissance hits the official servers because the level-up scrolls only put us at level 100 in the test server and it’s 1x EXP. :X There’s no way of getting into Future Henesys or Ereb.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

