Home > JapanMS Updates > Game Update Version 2.01 – Renaissance Part Two

Game Update Version 2.01 – Renaissance Part Two

 

 

 

 

With JapanMS’ new update today, we received two very fascinating things right off the bat. Starting the client up, I noticed, for one, there was no “WIZET” logo page or a “WIZET” logo next to the Nexon logo like normal. I wonder why they got rid of it. After the logo finished with its page, my jaw dropped – we got a new login sequence entirely. Immediately, I shut the client off to get a video of it.

 

 

 

 

The credits roll was giving me a hard time when trying to record, so I just said “screw it.” It kept kicking me out to the main page during the video. Only later did I find out why it was doing that – the slightest movement of your keyboard or mouse will terminate the video. Luckily, Nexon Japan was courteous to provide the video in the actual game folder like the MapleStory PVs.

 

 

 

 

 

Cool stuff, huh? Now, about the content added…

 

 

 

 

Personality System – 性向システム

 

I’ll make this one short and sweet, since it’s exactly that. The personality system was implemented the very same way it was in KMS and GMS, except I don’t remember the personality trait UI being attached to the character status window.

 

 

 

 

Update : It has been discovered there are differences between JapanMS’ Personality System and the Personality System in KMS and GMS. In JapanMS, when you get to certain levels of certain traits, you get a title next to your name, like so :

 

 

 

 

Titles change depending on what level your Personality trait is. The one I have is the first title for the GMS equivilant trait of “Diligence,” which reads “Unskillful [Name].” On top of that, when you get a Personality trait to level 60 or higher, you get a special effect above your character that depicts that trait. I don’t have a picture of my own, but luckily, someone from MapleSonar has already gotten to level 60 or higher Charm and has provided us with a screen shot.

 

 

 

 

If you don’t like any of them, in the system options, there are two new options – one is to turn off the trait titles that appear next to your name and another that disables the special trait effects. At least Nexon Japan considers the players’ feelings when they add in new content sometimes.

 

 

 

 

Professions – 専門技術

 

Okay, this one is going to need some work explaining things.
First off, there are two brand new, JapanMS-exclusive professions – Tamer (調教師) and Huntsman (狩猟家).

 

 

 

 

Now, I haven’t messed with these two professions at all, so I don’t really know how they work, but from the Renaissance teaser page, what I can tell you is this :

Tamer : With the monsters you’ve captured with the Huntsman profession, you can raise them and make them stronger and whatnot. According to the promo page, you can summon up to three familiars at a time with this profession.

Huntsman : You go to monsters out in the Maple Word and capture them, similar to Pokemon, except you capture them in cages and make them “your friend.” You can use this profession to turn monsters that didn’t have familiars before into familiars. I wonder if this works on Zakum.

 

 

Another thing I want to show you is Accessory Crafting and Blacksmithing. Why? Well, unlike KMS and GMS, Nexon Japan has merged the two. Yeah, you read that right. The two professions are one now.

 

 


“Learn the Equipment Crafting and Accessory Crafting skill.”

 

 

On top of this, Nexon Japan has developed their very own user interface for the profession system.

 

 

 

 

One thing that struck Dennis and I funny is that there is no visible fatigue bar. Instead, according to Dennis, there is an “experience limit.” I don’t know exactly what he means by that, since I haven’t had the time to work on maxing out my profession yet, but when you hit this limit, it works the same way as fatigue, I think. I’ll try to learn more as I go. Also, as you can see in the image above, there is no tab to switch to my other profession. Instead of making them one window, Nexon Japan has divided them up into two completely separate windows, meaning you need two different hotkeys to open both windows. I suppose it’s for the sake of minimizing lag.

 

 

Farming – ファーミング

 

Now, I haven’t messed with this much. I only went into my farm for about a minute, looked around, and left. I’ll tell you what I know so far, however.

There is a UI that you can press a hotkey for that will warp you instantly to your own, personal farm.

 

 

 

 

Once you’ve pressed that button to warp to your farm, it’ll give you a pop-up asking for reassurance that you want to go to your farm. Then, you get ported to a small size map with two platforms. On your farm, there are many spots where you can plant things. When you hover your mouse over the “click” icon, you see a yellow box with a grey blob doing a farming motion. If you click it, it brings up another user interface.

 

 

 

 

As you can see, you can buy a multitude of things to plant – you can customize your farm in just about any way. It’s more or less your own, personal ore/herb farm, which is amazing. Some of the items cost a good sum of mesos and the rest cost “FP,” or “Farming Points.” Now… from what I can tell, Farminig Points are only available in the Cash Shop – I COULD BE WRONG. There may be other ways to obtain Farming Points, but at this moment, I don’t know. I would assume you could get stuff via farming and setting up your farm and stuff like that, but I haven’t explored this content enough yet to give any confirmation.

To leave your farm, simply press the same hotkey you used to enter and it’ll give you a menu with a bunch of options, such as even inviting people to come to your farm or changing the theme of your farm!

 

 

 

 

When you go to plant something, there are limitations. For some items, you must have a free space to the left or right of it, or both. I bought a Brown Ore Vein to test it out (it cost me 168k Mesos to plant it). Once I did that, an image appeared of a rock, as if it were part of Perion or something. I put my cursor over it and it said I had to wait 60 minutes before being able to mine the vein.

 

 

 

 

To the left of it, I have another kind of option. I can plant something to increase my chances of being successful when mining for ore or digging up herbs. For herbs, you have these bags, I assume they’re bags of soil or nutrients. However, since mine is an ore vien, I need dynamite :

 

 

 

 

Of course, I don’t need these – they’re not a necessity – they’re just there for support. They cost Farming Points, which I still haven’t discovered how to obtain other than via Nexon Points. The dynamite, depending on which one you choose, gives up to 2x the amount of product produced. After the 60 minutes have completed, the Ore Veins grow and you can mine them.

 

 

 

 

Unlike normal veins, however, they’re all a single item. When you mine it, you get a ton of items from it, similar to the Heart Ore Vein.

 

 

 

 

After you’ve mined the spot, you have to wait 60 full minutes for them to grow back. All of the items used for farming last 7 days. After 7 days, they expire and you can use those spots to plant other stuff.

 

 

 

 

See this thing here? You can use it to forge plates from ores and potions from herbs. Also, there are a variety of NPCs you can put in your farm, such as the storage NPCs, Profession town shop NPCs, and even Cygnus, Resistance, and Dual Blade specific NPCs! Unfortunately, I don’t know what most of them do and they’re off limits at the moment, so I can’t find out.

 

 

Fishing Renewal – 釣り改変

 

I don’t really know much at this point. What I do know is that the content is now free to use for everyone, whereas it was NX-only before (with the exception of events). Also, there is no bait required anymore, whereas it used to require inventory clogging bait that would take hours to use up. When you enter the fishing place after you’ve bought your rod and your fishing chair, you have to use your fishing chair to start fishing. When you use that, a user interface pops up that gives you two options – automatic fishing or manual fishing.

 

 

 

 

The automatic fishing function is the same as the old style of fishing. Your character sits back in their chair and catches fish automatically.
The manual fishing function is brand new. Your character stands up, like they’re fishing eagerly, and when you get a bite, a meter pops up.

 

 

 

 

I’m not sure what button I’m supposed to press to catch the fish, but the basic attacking key failed for me.

Update : After playing around with it, it has been discovered that clicking the bar catches the fish. You have to click when the arrow is on the dark green bar or else you miss catching that fish.

 

 

 

 

Well, that’s all of the detail I have to share at the moment. I will be sure to give you more details as time progresses! Stay tuned!

Categories: JapanMS Updates
  1. August 10, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    Dennis Kwok :What I mean regarding the ‘Experience Limit’ is that theres a hard limit of 2000 experience that you can get from that profession for that day. After getting 2000 experience, you can no longer gain experience for that profession until it is reset at midnight JST or so I observed.
    You can still make items/mine even though you have reached the experience limit for the day, so there is nothing stopping you for making items/fuse/mine/etc.

    … Mistakes. Hate em.

  2. KoottaHigure
    August 13, 2011 at 1:36 am

    Your own Farm!? D:
    That’s simply amazing. It seems even with the same content as KMS , JMS always finds a way to spice up and make their stuff different ;d

  3. Booooo123
    August 15, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    Gawd I’m so jelly of JMS’s exclusive contents
    They are just so fking epic to ignore and move on with life f3

  4. Astaroth15
    August 22, 2011 at 10:14 am

    Nexon Japan is all we wanted Nexon America to be😥 you guys are soo lucky

  5. Henrietta
    August 29, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    At the mention of familiars from the new profession I was like OMG ZERO NO TSUKAIMA
    sorry just had to get that out lol

  6. September 25, 2011 at 2:53 am

    How do i enter the fishing place?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

